h1

I’m Hosting The Host!

June 20, 2009

thehost

***NOTE: Sadly Stephenie Meyer is not taking part in this tour so the information below was taken from The Host website.***

Q & A with Stephenie Meyer

Q: What inspired the idea for The Host?

A: The kernel of thought that became The Host was inspired by absolute boredom. I was driving from Phoenix to Salt Lake City, through some of the most dreary and repetitive desert in the world. It’s a drive I’ve made many times, and one of the ways I keep from going insane is by telling myself stories. I have no idea what sparked the strange foundation of a body-snatching alien in love with the host body’s boyfriend over the host-body’s protest. I was halfway into the story before I realized it. Once I got started, though, the story immediately demanded my attention. I could tell there was something compelling in the idea of such a complicated triangle. I started writing the outline in a notebook, and then fleshed it out as soon as I got to a computer. The Host was supposed to be no more than a side project—something to keep me busy between editing stints on Eclipse—but it turned into something I couldn’t step away from until it was done.

Q: Did you approaching writing The Host, your first adult novel, differently than your YA series?

A: Not at all. Like the Twilight Saga (this is probably the only way The Host is like the Twilight Saga!), The Host is just a story I had fun telling myself. My personal entertainment is always the key to why a story gets finished. I never think about another audience besides myself while I’m writing; that can wait for the editing stage.

Q: You have referred to The Host as being a science fiction novel for people who don’t like science fiction. Can you explain why?

A: Reading The Host doesn’t feel like reading science fiction; the world is familiar, the body you as the narrator are moving around inside of is familiar, the emotions on the faces of the people around you are familiar. It’s very much set in this world, with just a few key differences. If it weren’t for the fact that alien stories are by definition science fiction, I wouldn’t classify it in that genre.

Q: There is a lot of internal dialogue between Wanderer, the narrator and invading “soul”, and Melanie, the human whose body Wanderer is now living inside. Each character has her own distinct voice and internal struggle. Was it a challenge to have the two characters, who essentially take up one body, stand on their own?

A: Wanderer and Melanie were very distinct personalities to me from day one; keeping them separate was never an issue. Melanie is the victim—she’s the one that we, as humans, should identify with; at the same time, she is not always the more admirable character. She can be angry and violent and ruthless. Wanderer is the attacker, the thief. She is not like us, not even a member of our species. However, she is someone that I, at least, wish I was more like. She’s a better person than Melanie in a lot of ways, and yet a weaker person. The differences between the two main characters are the whole point of the story. If they weren’t so distinct, there would have been no reason to write it.

Q: Did any of the characters surprise you while writing?

A: I am constantly surprised by my characters when I write—it’s really one of my favorite parts. When a character refuses to do what I had planned for him or her, that’s when I know that character is really alive. There were several characters who caught me off guard with The Host. One in particular was slated for a bit part as the wingman to the villain. Somehow, he knew he was more than that, and I couldn’t stop him from morphing into a main love interest. 

Q: Your Twilight series has had a lot of crossover appeal for adult readers, do you think The Host will also appeal to your younger readers?

A: I’ve had a great deal of interest from my YA readers about the release of The Host. I have no doubt that they will continue to make up a core part of my readership. I love blurring the lines between the different genres and categories—because in my head, a good book won’t fit inside the lines. I hope that The Host continues to do what the Twilight Saga is doing: showing that a good story doesn’t belong to any one demographic.

Q: How do you feel about the enormous success that you’ve had with the Twilight series? How has it changed your life?

A: I am continually shocked by the success of my books.  I never take it for granted, and I do not count on it in my expectations of my future.  It’s a very enjoyable thing, and I’ll have fun with it while it lasts. I’ve always considered myself first and foremost a mother, so being a writer hasn’t changed my life too much – except I do travel a lot more and have less free time.

Q: What adult authors do you read?

A: I’ve been reading books for adults my entire life. Growing up I was an avid reader—the thicker the book, the better. Pride and Prejudice, Gone with the Wind, The Sword of Shannara, Jane Eyre, Rebecca, etc. I’m a huge fan of Orson Scott Card, and Jane Austen– I can’t go through a year without re-reading her stuff again.

In honor of hosting The Host I’ll be giving away 3 copies of The Host courtesy of Hachette Book Group!

To enter – read the contest rules below and answer this question in the comments:

Which of Stephenie Meyer’s books is your favorite? If you haven’t read any of her books or you don’t have a favorite then tell me one of your other favorite books you’ve read this year.

Contest Rules for Hachette Book Group Giveaways:

-U.S. and Canada entrants ONLY

– NO P.O. Boxes please

– I’ll be contacting the winners so be sure to leave a valid email address!

– The winners will have 48 hours to reply back to me with their addresses so be sure to check your spam folders!

 ***Note: Contest Rules for Hatchette Book Group Giveaways are seperate from my own Contest Rules)***

Contest will end Tuesday, June 30th at midnight central time!!!

To check out the rest of the stops for The Host Blog Tour check out the calender HERE!

Thanks for stopping!

Hugs,

     Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

18 comments

  1. I am currently re-reading her 4th Twilight book. I think that it and the third one are my favorites.


  2. My favorite Stephenie Meyer book is Eclipse.

    thanks for the chance to win The Host


  3. My favorite is Eclipse. Not really sure why but…


  4. My all time favorite would have to be Breaking Dawn. It’s where you meet the cutest character, Nessie.


  5. I completely spaced and never answered the question that I’m asking everyone so here is my answer:

    It was really hard for me to pick a favorite, but hands down I have to say Breaking Dawn is my favorite. Why? Well there are several reasons and one of them is the answer I Heart Book Gossip gave, but there are several others, I don’t want to say anything more because that will spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet 🙂


  6. Either Twilight or Breaking Dawn is my favorite. I really cant decide between the two.


  7. Thanks for hosting this giveaway! My favorite Stephenie Meyer book has to be TWILIGHT. The others vary in quality, imo, but TWILIGHT remains something truly special. I’ll never forget the first time she sees them in the cafeteria.

    angiegirl(at)gmail(dot)com


  8. Haven’t read Stephanie Meyer’s books but my teen has read them all and this past weekend, we just watched Twilight together! Thanks, please enter me in this giveaway!


  9. I fell in love with the Twilight series. It got me through a really rough patch in my life (I’d just quit smoking, Hoop’s brother had just been killed, we were getting married). It was a perfect “place” to escape to. But I thought The Host was a better written novel. It’s hard to choose!

    P.S. Since I’ve already read the book, you don’t have to enter me in the contest. I’d like to give other people (who haven’t read it yet) the chance. 🙂


  10. I haven’t read any of her books YET, but would like to. I guess my fave so far this year would be Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan.

    lavery328 at yahoo dot com


  11. I have never read any of Stephanie’s books, but I would love to try! She has gotten so much buzz that I am dying of curiosity!
    My favorite book I have read this year is The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie.

    runningmatey at hotmail dot com


  12. Please include me! Favorite book this year: To Seduce a Sinner by Elizabeth Hoyt.


  13. i ahven’t read any of Stephanie’s books yet, i’m always looking for a new author to add to my reading list. A book that I read and enjoyed this spring was Lisa Gardner’s Look Again.


  14. Honestly, the Host is my favorite book by Meyer. I like this story better then her Twilight-saga since the world in Host is all her own creation. And what a world it is!


  15. I love the whole Twilight series, but my favorite is Breaking Dawn because so much happens in that book and I adore Renesmee.


  16. Flirting with Forty was my favorite book that I’ve read this year.


  17. I haven’t read any of Stephenie Meyer’s books yet but this looks and sounds like a good one. My favorite book that I have read so far this year is, James Patterson’s 7th Heaven.


  18. I haven’t read any Stephenie Meyer’s books yet but one of my top favorite novels is ‘Stormfire’ by Christine Monson. The hero, Sean Culhane, is the most tortured I’ve ever read about. His mother was raped and murdered in front of him when he was young and that set him on the path of revenge. He kidnaps the daughter of his enemy, the man behind his mothers murder, and treats her horribly.



Leave a Reply

