h1

Guest Author Interview: Cheryl Brooks

June 4, 2009

Now please help me in giving a warm welcome to Sourcebooks Casablanca Author, Cheryl Brooks!

Outcast2_jpg_w300h484

Thanks so much for being here today, Cheryl!

 Dani: First, would you please tell us a little about yourself?

 Cheryl: I’ve been a critical care nurse since 1976, and I still work full-time in ICU. I’ve been married for 30 years, and my husband and I have two sons. My first love was horses (I have four), but I also like cats (and have somehow managed to collect six of them) and I enjoy gardening, cooking, and writing.

 Dani: Where did you get the “itch” to write?

 Cheryl: A long time ago (in a galaxy far, far away…) I decided that the world needed a sci-fi romance. I’d never read one, so I started writing, but abandoned that project in favor of a few others that were never finished. Then I quit writing and focused on other things for several years, but about fifteen years ago, I actually finished three novels, and sent a query to Harlequin, which was promptly rejected. I stopped writing for another ten years and started again in 2004 when my husband said: “Write!” and I’ve been writing non-stop ever since.

 Dani: How long have you been writing?

 Cheryl: Off and on for the past thirty years. I’ve always needed a creative outlet of some kind, and writing is the one I keep coming back to.

 Dani: Could you tell us about your current release, Outcast?

 Cheryl: Bonnie Neurath, a homesteader on the newly colonized planet of Terra Minor, is in desperate need of help. Her boyfriend abandoned her with a farm, a mortgage, some really nasty livestock, and a baby on the way. Lynx is a Zetithian who spent ten years as a slave to a harem full of women. Now a free man, he’s already forgotten more about pleasing women than most men ever learn, but his experiences have also turned him into an impotent woman-hater. Neither is looking for love, but when circumstances bring them together, danger and hot romance ensue. This one will break your heart, patch it up, and make it BURN!!!!

 Dani: Any other releases coming up soon? Could you tell us a little about them?

 Cheryl: Fugitive will be released in January and is the story of Drusilla Chevrault, a renowned wildlife painter. She is drawn to Barada Seven by its fabulous birds, but finds a far more interesting subject in Manx, a sexy Zetithian who has been on the run from his enemies for the past twenty years. Now that Manx has chosen Drusilla as his mate, others have tracked him down, and in the race to find the last Zetithian, the winner will determine whether he loves or dies. . .

Dani: Out of all the books you’ve written which was the most challenging to write and why?

 Cheryl: Outcast was the biggest challenge because it’s the first of this series to be written in third person. I’d always written in first person before, and wasn’t sure how it would be received, but since most romance readers prefer that point of view, I probably didn’t need to worry!

Dani: Where do you get your ideas for your books?

 Cheryl: Everywhere. Music, events, people, movies, magazines—you name it. Many times I go into an experience thinking that I might find inspiration in it, and sometimes, I do!

 Dani: What are you currently working on?

 Cheryl: Hero, the sixth book in the series, which is about Trag, the other brother from Rogue and Micayla, a female Zetithian. They work together to track down the ultimate villain!

 Dani: What’s been the best experience in your writing career?

 Cheryl: That very first call from my editor saying she wanted to read the rest of the manuscript that I’d submitted. The fun part was that she didn’t actually talk to me, but told my husband. I think he really enjoyed being the one to tell me.

 Dani: What’s been the worst experience in your writing career?

 Cheryl: Bad reviews. I understand that I can’t please everyone, but they still hit me like a heart attack.

 Dani: Since you’re an author, I assume you’re an avid reader as well. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are you favorite authors? What books are on your keeper shelf?

 Cheryl: I used to read a lot more than I do now. With two careers, I don’t have a lot of time. I love the Harry Potter series and do the best I can to keep up with the work of my fellow Sourcebooks Casablanca authors. In the past, I loved reading Regency Romances, particularly those by Georgette Heyer, and the romantic suspense novels of Mary Stewart.

 Dani: What do you enjoy doing in your spare time (besides writing and reading of course)?

 Cheryl: LOL! I have no spare time! I rarely watch television, but I do go to the occasional movie or out to dinner with my family. The rest of the time, I’m working—whether it be as a nurse, a writer, or a wife and mother, etc.

 Dani: What’s the coolest thing about being an author?
 
Cheryl: Seeing your books on the bookstore shelf and getting emails from readers who’ve enjoyed them. That part never gets old.

Dani: What advice would you give to aspiring writers today?
 
Cheryl: There’s a whole lot more to it than just writing a book. You need to learn about the business as well as the writing craft. There are revisions, edits, promotions, contracts, and, of course, writing the next book, which takes up a lot of your time. It’s not a good way to get rich quick (hence the two jobs) but you do meet a lot of new people—even if it’s only through the Internet.

Dani: Anything else you’d like to tell us?
 
Cheryl: I love getting emails from readers. Feel free to contact me at:  cheryl.brooks52@yahoo.com

 Dani: Thanks again, Cheryl for being here today!

Cheryl: And thank you for having me here on Confessions of a Romance Book Addict!

 If you’d like to purchase Outcast, Book #4 in The Cat Star Chronicles series then click on one of the links below:

Sourcebooks, Inc.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Borders

To check out my book review of Rogue, book #3 in The Cat Star Chronicles series CLICK HERE. I’ll have my book review of Outcast up soon! So keep your eyes open!

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

9 comments

  1. GoodMorning,
    That’s a good interview. This book “Outcast” is my favorite. You do have 5 more to go. No pressure. So go take your vacation. Don’t worry about us back at your Mother Ship. We have a really big hunk to keep us company. Enjoy Myrtle Beach!!!!


  2. I’m so excited about Fugitive Cheryl XD It just seems like every book you write, you make the worlds in it so much more creative and exciting. And I really love the way you bring in characters from previous books as well 😀


  3. Hi Cheryl! Great interview! I’m always anxious to see what you’ll come up with next…and I have NO idea how you do all that you do! Keep up the amazing work:-)


  4. Thanks, Kendra! I’m trying!


  5. Free time? Where? Where? 😉 All you do it amazing, Cheryl, but I’m hopeful that you’ll get a little more leisure time soon.


  6. Great interview, Cheryl! It’s your day!

    Linda


  7. Thanks, Lexi!
    I’m doing my best to relax!


  8. Good interview! Outcast sounds like a good book. I am going to look into The Cat Star Chronicles.


  9. Hello,
    New here. Thanks

    Mary Aloe
    Proud Mary Entertainment



Leave a Reply

