h1

Guest Author: Kendra Leigh Castle!

May 4, 2009

Hey Everyone! I appologize for such a late posting… I guess my internet connection must have messed up or something went wrong with wordpress because I had this all typed up and posted this morning, but I guess it never “offically” saved and posted like it said it did. :\

So without further ado please help me in welcoming Sourcebooks Casablanca Author, Kendra Leigh Castle!

kendraleighcastle

Just Another Romance Addict

Hi, and thanks so much for having me here at Confessions of a Romance Book Addict!  I have to say, I love the name of this blog…I may write romance, but I started out as a romance book addict myself.  And I can certainly appreciate needing to indulge the craving regularly, whether it’s through writing them or heading to the bookstore to wander the aisles and find something new to read.  I mean, I just about do a dance when I find a new book by a favorite author (like I just did when I saw that Gena Showalter’s new Atlantis book had finally come out, after which I took it home and devoured it). 

I’m not sure exactly what got me thinking about writing my own romances, only that my house was awash in them while I was growing up and, as a pretty precocious reader, I eventually started reading them.  My mom, bless her, had watched me tear through so many books of all sorts that she was happy to share her love of the genre with me.  There may have been one or two before it, but I vividly remember reading A Knight in Shining Armor by Judith McNaught, bought in hardback because Mom couldn’t wait.  Time travel was big at that point, and I just ate it up.  I’d always loved fantasy and fairy tales, and this just seemed like a more adult version of the same.  I still think of it that way, actually: fairy tales for grown-ups.  Not that I was much of a grown-up in sixth grade, but these books offered me more than the Brothers Grimm could.  Not everything I read was magical (though I loved it if I could find it).  My mother liked historicals, particularly Julie Garwood and Johanna Lindsey, and to this day those two authors are my very favorites.  Well, okay, I did let Nora Roberts into their ranks some time ago, but they were first. 

I think the book that really opened my eyes to all a romance could be was Warrior’s Woman by Johanna Lindsey.  If you’ve never checked it out (and you should), it’s a future-set sci-fi romance about a modern independent woman stranded on a planet of big, strong, and reasonably chauvinistic barbarians.  She’s “claimed” by the leader, naturally, and fireworks ensue.  Their daughter’s story, Keeper of the Heart, is just as good.  Anyway, these books were something really different, really original.  I’d never seen anything like them, and I of course wanted more.  Eventually, I started to wonder if some of that “more” could come from me.

It wasn’t a quick trip from reader to writer.  I’m thirty-one, in my second year as a published author, but I’d been kicking around the idea of writing a book since high school.  What finally happened was that my Navy pilot husband moved me to a remote town in the Nevada desert, and it was either write my book or wind up wandering through the tumbleweed and sagebrush, muttering to myself and occasionally drooling.  So I combined my love of creatures of the night and Highlanders and wrote the first in my MacInnes Werewolf trilogy, Call of the Highland Moon.  After that came Dark Highland Fire, and now the final book has just been released, Wild Highland Magic.  I like to think that my books, which are about members of a pack of Highland werewolves grappling with the fact that the relic they guard is also a doorway to an otherworld full of dark magic, are following along in the same tradition that brought me to writing romance. And maybe, possibly, someone will read the worlds I’ve created, and that same spark will snap to life inside them: the one that says “I want to do this too.”

wildhighlandmagic

 

I hope some of you will check out Wild Highland Magic and join Catriona MacInnes, an untrained werewolf just discovering her Scottish roots, as she falls for a mysterious otherworld sorcerer with some deadly problems of his own under the Highland moon.  I love writing these grown-up fairy tales, but sharing them is the absolute best part. 

So which romances made you a romance book addict?  I’ll be in to chat all day, and I’ve also got a copy of Wild Highland Magic to give away!  I’ll choose one commenter at random, so check back in the comments section in the morning for the winner.  Happy reading!

Kendra

Kendra Leigh Castle is the author of the MacInnes Werewolves trilogy, as well as the upcoming series The Fallen, coming from Harlequin Nocturne.  She lives in Maryland with her husband, three kids, and menagerie of pets, and loves to be visited online at www.kendraleighcastle.com       

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The romance book that turned me into a romance book addict was the first romance book I’d ever read and that was Take On Me by Sarah Mayberry. I’ve been addicted to them since…

If you’d like to purchase Wild Highland Magic just click on one of the links below.

Sourcebooks, Inc.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Borders

Okay Everyone! Be sure to leave a comment to be entered in to win a copy of Wild Highland Magic (contest is ONLY open today!) and to ask Kendra any questions you might have or just give a wave and say Hi! 🙂

Hugs,

        Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

22 comments

  1. Thanks so much for being here today Kendra! We’re glad to have you! 🙂 Also I’m glad you like the title of my blog, I like it too! 😀


  2. Thanks for having me Dani! And I do, I love it:-)


  3. No need to enter me since I already read it and posted a review on my blog. I just wanted to say it was a great book! In fact it was the only book I read last month that I gave 5 out of 5 stars. Thanks Kendra for such a great story!


  4. Wild Highland Magic sounds fantastic I loved Call Of The Highland Moon I am reading Dark Highland Fire at the moment and really loving it as well.
    Kendra you have opened my eyes to a wonderful genre in the romance world and I am so enjoying them thank you very much.
    Congrats on the series what are you plans for the next book.

    Have Fun
    Helen


  5. Thanks so much, ladies! I loved that review, Debbie:-) And Helen, I am so thrilled that you’re enjoying my books! That’s my favorite thing to hear! My next book will actually be the beginning of a series for Harlequin, through their Nocturne line. The book is Sinfully Yours, the series is The Fallen, and it’s about a group of bad boy fallen angels, on the run from hell and doing some reluctant freelance work for Heaven as the world teeters on the edge of eternal darkness. It’s dark and funny and sexy and I’m really enjoying creating this new world!


  6. Knight In Shining Armor is one of my all time favorites! I knew I liked you, Kendra! 🙂


  7. Hi Kendra! Congratulations!! I am so excited to read the last *sob* book in the series. It is bittersweet for me as I love your characters. But then I am anxious to see what other remarkable stories you have rattling around in your brain! Best of luck. I’ll be watching you! Sharon


  8. LOL, I’ll never forget the cover, with the gauntlet on it! And the bit where she always took a bath in the fountain, and eventually she found out it had gotten to be like a nightly show for everyone. Good stuff, Judi! 🙂


  9. Kendra

    I will be looking out for the new series when it is released I love your work

    Have Fun
    Helen


  10. Way to go, Kendra! Congrats on the new release. I’m anxious to see how Bastian’s story turns out.


  11. Hi Kendra,
    Congrats on the launch! Looking forward to reading book 3. Enjoy your celebration!
    Marie


  12. Don’t cry, Sharon! We’ll always have cyberspace! LOL, you’re so sweet, thanks for all that luck. You know I wish it for you too, not that you need it!

    Helen, I’ll be sure to let you know when I have solid dates! I’m still writing away on it, and a short story I’m doing for Nocturne Bites (which Harlequin sells electronically only). BUSY! AHHH! But in a good way:-) I love having you as a reader.


  13. Well I have to say the book that hooked me on romances was Mackenzie’s Mountain by Linda Howard. I love that book. Wolf and Mary Mackenzie hold a special place in my heart.

    Congrats on the new release. I’m looking forward to it.


  14. Just popping in to say hello. This is definitely a series I’ll have to check out.


  15. I’m really looking forward to your series coming out in the Nocturne line in Harlequin! Bad Boy Fallen Angels 😀 … sounds like it’s going to be a great new series I’m just gonna have to get my hands on! Is there a release date set for them yet?


  16. lol musta posted in the wrong spot im bad about that ahh well congrats on the book and everything you have done so far has been awesome i agree with sharon in not being able to wait to see what other charactors u may have in ur head will be awesome to see


  17. Hi Marie and Cheryl! *waves* Thanks for coming by! I have awesome writer friends, I have to say
    🙂

    Hi Greta! Linda Howard = excellence. I think she’s speaking at our national writers’ conference this year, and I can’t wait!

    Hi Brandy! Thanks, I hope you enjoy it:-)

    Dani, thanks, I’m SO excited about writing them. I love bad boys in romance, and these guys definitely qualify. No release date yet, but it’ll be either late next year or possibly pushed a bit into the next. I hate that it’s such a gap, but I’ll be doing some short story tie-ins for the series for Nocturne Bites, and the first two or three should come out in fairly rapid succession. I’ll keep everyone updated on my blog!

    Hi Beverly, thanks! I hope you enjoy everything I’ve got coming up, and I really appreciate the support. I love my readers:-)


  18. Hi Kendra! Super glad to have the chance to read your interview. Congratulations on your new book! 🙂

    Julie Garwood is pretty fantastic isn’t she?

    Glad you kept up with your dream and ran with it. Being a writer takes a lot of time, patience, and creativity I’m sure but this looks great and I’m looking forward to checking you out in the future. Good luck and lots of success to you! 😀

    lyoness2009 AT hotmail.com


  19. Hi Kendra!

    Cannot tell you how excited I am to read your interview! A friend of mine told me about this book and she says I would love it! I’m loving shapeshifter books right now and this looks wonderful. 🙂

    I’m reading Shelly Laurenston, Lora Leigh, and of course Sherrilyn Kenyon right now. I saw that you liked Julie and Johanna Lindsey (both fantastic writers)…who are some of your fav paranormal romance authors?

    Happy Monday! 🙂 rachie2004 @ yahoo. com


  20. Hi Lyoness! Yes, I have an entire shelf devoted to Julie Garwood…she rules:-) Thanks so much for the congrats! It is a lot of work, but it’s been well worth it.

    Hi Rachie! Ooh, I got recommended? I like that! Your friend is awesome, LOL! I hope you enjoy the books. Some of my favorite paranormal authors are Gena Showalter, Nora Roberts (I love her paranormal trilogies), Alyssa Day, and Jacquelyn Frank. Thanks so much for stopping by!


  21. Hi everyone! Well, I just presented my three-year-old with the Hat O’ Names (he’s quite helpful when he’s not destroying things), and the winner of a signed copy of Wild Highland Magic is…

    HELEN!

    Helen, please write me at kendraleighcastle@yahoo.com with your address, and congratulations!

    Dani, thanks again for having me here…it was so much fun!


  22. Hey Kendra..

    Lovely to see you at another of my favourite place on the web..

    Dani lovely post and i have this on order – so looking forward to Bastian Story..

    E.H>



Leave a Reply

