h1

Guest Author: Robin Kaye!

April 22, 2009

Hey Everyone! Please help me in giving a warm welcome to Sourcebooks Casablanca Author, Robin Kaye!

robinkaye

Some of My Favorite Things About Romances

When people ask why I write romance, I tell that it’s because I love to read it. It wasn’t always that way. I don’t think I read a romance until eight or nine years ago. I grew up reading all my father’s mystery books, Harold Robbins, Robert Ludlum, Sidney Sheldon and the like. My mother was never a big reader, thank God, because if she’d known what I was reading in the third grade, she probably would have had a conniption fit.

It wasn’t until a few months after I moved to Maryland from Boise, Idaho in October of 2000 that I picked up my first romance. I fell in love with the smart heroines, great dialogue and to-die-for heroes–what’s not to love? Once I got one in my hot little hands, I couldn’t put them down.

I’m a book-a-day reader, and believe me–if I don’t get my book fix, I go through romance withdrawal. I’ve been on a reading ‘diet’ due to a crazy family life and writing deadlines. You should see me now—instead of losing weight, I get grouchy and I’m not fun to be around. It’s not a pretty picture. But going on a reading diet has reminded me what it is I really missed about reading a great romance. I realized I love to see the characters’ arcs—the way they grow and change through the book. I want to understand why a character is who he/she is at the beginning of the book and then watch her/him blossom into a better, happier version. I love to watch people, who, with the love of the right woman or man, rise to their potential even when it’s difficult to see that potential in the beginning. One of the great things about romance novel love is that a true soul mate has the ability to see through the face our heroine shows to the world around her to her true essence.

toohottohandle

Take Annabelle Ronaldi, the heroine in Too Hot To Handle. Annabelle has by no means led a charmed life, and because of it could be considered a bit of a pill. She’s not perfect, but then, who is? Even in fiction, every character has flaws—they are a part of what makes the character believable and someone we can all relate to. What makes a heroine heroic, in my opinion, is that she has the strength to recognize and overcome her faults, and any other obstacle keeping her from being the best person she can be. In Annabelle’s case, it was a family from hell; a dead boyfriend she never quite got over; the embarrassment of catching her fiancé boinking the help; and having a sister take over the dream wedding she’d spent the last year planning.

Annabelle was so far from perfect it wasn’t funny. Okay, it was funny, but hey, I write romantic comedy–work with me here. The thing I love about Annabelle is that she was strong enough to face her fears, and with the help of her best friend Becca, Dr. Mike Flynn our Domestic God hero, and even the family from hell, was able to grow, overcome her past mistakes and learn from them. She became the best version of herself. Isn’t that what we try to do every day? Learn and change and become a better version of ourselves?

BLURB:

“He sure would love to have someone to take care of…

Dr. Mike Flynn’s single mom taught him early how to cook and clean, and there’s nothing like vacuuming or doing dishes to help a guy relax. Annabelle Ronaldi is an artist without a domestic bone in her body. Since her fiance’s death, she can’t paint, and life looks hopeless.

Until the day after her sister’s wedding, when she wakes up with Mike next to her in bed, and then she’s really beside herself – because the handsome stranger is a dead ringer for her dead fiance.

After their mind-blowing one night stand, Mike is sure this is the woman he wants to take care of forever, but she acts like she’s seen a ghost. While Mike sets to work wooing Annabelle, she sets to work sniffing out the truth of the convoluted family secret that turns everybody’s lives upside down.”

So, what is it about reading romances that you love?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There are a ton of things that I love about reading romances, one of the things I love is when a character fights for what they believe in especially for love.

If you’d like to purchase Too Hot To Handle, just click on one of the links below:

Sourcebooks, Inc.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Borders

Okay Everyone! Robin has agreed to stop in today to answer questions and comments! So be sure to answer her question and give a wave and say Hi! Be sure to check out her website as well!

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

2 comments

  1. Robin, your artical is enlighting and I love your work. I’d like to take a moment and shamelessly promote my new book,”Beth:Love Along The Way….by B.G.Sanford,” and just released by Eloquent Books. It’s a wonderful romance, a love affair of a lifetime, presenting itself to Beth during some of the darkest times of her life. She struggles with what to do, knowing fully what would be morally right. Because of the very substance of this book, it certainly can’t be considered “lightweight” by any stretch of the imagination. I hope you have the opportunity to read it as it’s an entertaining story you won’t soon forget.
    All my best,
    B.G.Sanford
    http://www.eloquentbooks.com/BethLoveAlongTheWay.html


  2. I love the journey to the happily ever after. It can have comedy or suspense or something in between. I just need a good story and great characters.

    Sounds like a great book. I have Romeo, Romeo up in my TBR pile. thinking I really need to move it up to the top.



Leave a Reply

