h1

Guest Author: Mary Margret Daughtridge!

April 8, 2009

Hey Everyone! Please help me in giving a warm welcome to Sourcebooks Casablanca Author, Mary Margret Daughtridge!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

Love For Sale

By Mary Margret Daughtridge

 

What to do about the economy is on everyone’s minds theses days.  

 

The other day I heard a TV interviewer in portentous tones ask an economic expert, “How afraid should we be?” As if by dialing our fear to the right level, we can do something about the economy! I’m still shaking my head over that one. 

Does anybody but me see how ridiculous to the point of insanity such a stance is? 

 

Where’s my soapbox? 

 

I’m going to tell you the truth about why newscasters say things like that. They’re not nuts and it isn’t accidental. Crazy?—right! Crazy like a Fox, they are.

 

The truth is fear sells. The more they can convince you the world is going to hell in a hand basket, and you must stay tuned for the latest developments so that you will know “how afraid to be,” the more you’re a captive audience for their real agenda. Which is to sell you products. 

 

Never, never doubt that this is the purpose of commercial television. They are not on your side. 

 

Fear is useful only to the extent that it motivates us to take action, and the correct action at that. 

 

When  a herd stampedes only one or two cows even know what they’re running from. The rest are afraid because the cows on either side are afraid. In the middle of a stampeding herd is not where you want to be. 

 

Fear sells. But, my friends, so does love. However love takes time and goes deep. Using love to motivate is beyond the resources of the networks. No matter how many women in too-tight dresses cut down to here and up to there the networks decorate their shows with, they can’t come close to what a novelist can do with love. 

 sealed

 

In SEALed With A Promise, Emelina Caddington is a most unlikely heroine. Socially timid, she has prefers camouflage to confrontation. She flourishes in the tiny ecosystem of a university and never sticks a toe outside it, if she can help it.

 

Let me tell you what, if that’s all there was to Emmie she would never have gotten to star in a love story. Emmie’s story starts when she finds something she wants more than safety.

 

In the great scheme of things, Emmie is helpless. She can’t cure her friend of a genetic disease. She can’t assure her friend’s happiness in a marriage to the kind of man Emmie has no use for. And though she dreads it, she can’t prevent their friendship from being changed, as it surely will be, when her friend is married.

 

Because she is grateful for how her best friend Pickett has enriched her life, she wants to enrich Pickett’s. She wants to make her college roommate’s wedding perfect. She sees the one thing that has been left out, and is determined to supply it.

 

Is it important? Heck no. In the great scheme of things, what a wedding cake is made of is trivial to the point of silliness. But because she sees one tiny way she can improve someone else’s life, Emmie leaves her comfort zone to perform one tiny action. She has found the thing important enough to make herself bigger than her fear.

 

In the great scheme of things, we are as helpless as Emmie. I can’t shore up General Motors or keep a bank from going bankrupt. I’ve got no idea how to jump start an economy. The forces creating them are vast. But does that make me powerless?

 

I think novels in general and romances in particular are powerful because they deal with our concerns at the human scale—the scale we actually live at. Romance novels take it even further. They dwell on how people relate in small groups—dyads and triads. They concern themselves with what the characters think and feel at the most intimate levels. And they remind us that love casts out fear.

 

So what can you do about the economy? Instead of figuring out how afraid to be, find what matters to you enough to fire up your courage. Give yourself a dose of hope. Get reminded that fear makes you stupid. Remember that what works in a scary situation is to work together with other people of good will. Buy a romance novel. 

If you’d like to know more about SEALed With A Promise, and me, visit me at my website.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I do have to agree with Mary fear does sell, but so does love. 🙂

If you’d like to PURCHASE, SEALed With A Promise click on one of the links below:

Sourcebooks, Inc.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Borders

Also, keep an eye out for my book review of SEALed With A Promise, coming soon!

Okay Everyone! Mary has agreed to stop in today to answer questions and comments! So give a wave and say Hi!

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

P.S. I just wanted to give a shoutout to my mom, it’s her Birthday today! I shall not disclose how old she’s turning because she hates being reminded so, HAPPY (how ever old you are) BIRTHDAY MOM! LOVE YOU!

6 comments

  1. Thanks for letting join you this morning, Dani. I enjoy answering questions and comments from readers, so let me hear from you.

    ___Mary Margret, who is also wishing Dani’s mom a happy birthday.


    • and thank you for joining me and all my fellow bloggers 🙂

      and another thanks for the birthday wish for my mom I’ll be sure to pass it on to her, it will make her day 😀


  2. Hey Dani,

    I enjoyed your chat with Mary. I read her first book and it was the highlight of my TBR pile for a long time..

    Haven’t gotten my mitts on this new one yet – I must look if it’s in the shop over here yet..

    I am trying not to read any reviews of this book until I read it myself – I am pleased that Picket and her little family is revisited – I loved her..

    Mary – Love your style. Your characters are just something else and I really like how you balance a little (well a lot of humour) with the everyday realities of life..

    http://erotichorizon.blogspot.com/search/label/Mary%20Margret%20Daughtridge

    E.H.

    Dani’s Mum – Have a wonderful day, hope it’s everything you wish it to be.

    E.H>


  3. I’ve seen Mary on the net recently and I had to add her to my TBB book. I really love the sound of this book.

    Happy Birhtday Dani’s Mom!!!


  4. EH,

    Thanks for the kind words about SEALed With A Kiss. I’m so glad you enjoyed the funny parts. I don’t write “humor” and don’t think I could, but human beings crack me up–just by being themselves. And sometimes the funny things that happen in the middle of sad or tense situations make the situation all the more touching.

    I respect your desire to make up your own mind about SEALed With A Promise. I hope when you’ve read it you’ll let me hear from you. I’d love to know what you think of it.


  5. Brandy,

    I hope you’ll enjoy SEALed With A Promise. I know that’s a big “Duh!” I mean, what else am I going to say? 🙂

    Still, it’s true. The kind of book that is to everyone’s taste has not been written. One of the best things about being able to guest blog is that readers can get a feel for my voice, and even a sense of my philosophy that makes it easier to tell if they might like what I write.



Leave a Reply

