h1

March Cover Of The Month

March 2, 2009

For those of you who are new to my blog…

Every 2nd of every month I’ll announce a book cover as “Cover Of The Month.” I know a lot of blog’s already have some sort of “Of The Month” thing, but I thought it would be fun to do one anyway. Now your probably wondering why I chose covers. Well, I love book covers. Cover flats are my favorite promo item and I collect them. Book covers are how I discover new to me authors most of the time. I run across a cover that I really like, I read the back blurb, I’m hooked. It’s as simple as that. ) Okay, so this is how every “Cover Of The Month” post will go… I’ll post a cover and it’s information on it (the back blurb, author, cover artist- if available, where you can purchase it, etc.) then I’ll tell you why I chose it as “Cover Of The Month.” Some months I might even have you help me choose a “Cover Of The Month” by doing a poll for it.

and the March Cover of the Month is…

The Stolen One by Suzanne Crowley

thestolenone

“When her adoptive mother dies, Katherine Bab takes
the chance she has been waiting for her whole life: she
flees from her country village to London, to uncover the
secret of who she really is. Before long, Kat has become
the favorite of Queen Elizabeth herself, and rumors are
swirling–could fiery-haired Kat be the secret daughter
of the virgin queen? Kat’s got plenty of other things to figure
out, as well…such as how to choose between her childhood
love and the two handsome men at court vying for her
affections.”

Why did I choose this cover? For one thing it is absolutely beautiful! I love the gown, necklace, and the color of Kat’s hair is beautiful as well! Plus, it doesn’t hurt that this book sounds like an amazing read! 🙂

  I think the cover is so compelling and captures the tone of the story perfectly. It’s a beautiful combination of an old master painting and fashion photography. Paul Zakris, art director at Greenwillow designed it. He was inspired by a Nora Jones cover for the pose of the model. Chris Borgman was the photographer.

I had a lot of input for this cover, and it was so exciting. They sent me portfolios by email of models and we all agreed “Courtney” was perfect for our Kat, the main character. Next they sent me photos of dresses and we narrowed it down to the elegant dress shown. I was able to find the necklace about a week before the photo shoot, and they contacted the artist and she quickly made one up and sent it off. It arrived the night before the shoot. Later, Virginia, my editor sent the necklace to me. What a thrill! It will be fun to wear to booksignings and school visits. The pear the model is holding was Virginia’s idea. You’ll have to wait and read the book to find out the sginificance. I also got to see all the photos from the shoot. I was out running errands and saw on my phone there was an email from Paul with the heading “photo shoot.” I’ve never driven home so fast in my life. They were all gorgeous but ultimately Paul chose the best. Look at those eyes! Interestingly, we did not have a title yet when the cover was being made.”

***NOTE: THE ABOVE 2 PARAGRAPHS IN PURPLE WERE TAKEN FROM SUZANNE CROWLEY’S BLOG (about how her book cover was “made”)***

This book is a YA novel, but it does have some romance thrown in as well… and it isn’t even released yet… it’s release date is set for July 6, 2009. I actually discovered this through another authors blog, Cindy Pon, author of the upcoming May release, Silver Phoenix.

If you’re interested in pre-ordering The Stolen One just click on one of the links below.

AMAZON

BARNES & NOBLE

BORDERS

If you’d like to see the past “Cover of the Months” just CLICK HERE.

Now for the daily question(s)…

What do you like/dislike about this cover? Are you thinking about buying it now to read it?

Hugs,

    Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

7 comments

  1. Other than beautiful, this cover is absolutely striking- it jump off the page and WOW.

    good choice this month

    E.H>


  2. This cover is awesome as is the cover for Cindy’s book as well!


  3. That is one gorgeous cover. I just love the cover model’s hair….


  4. Great cover and that’s as much as my brain can muster. I feel like the house should be quarantined at this point since we are all sick. 😦


    • I know how you feel Brandy… im still very sick… some really bad flu bug is going around my town… only my sister and I are sick… I’m sure it won’t be long til the rest of the family is… :/


  5. I really liked this cover because of the detail of the historical clothing!


  6. Oh, I do love this cover. The model reminds me SO much of Rachelle Lefevre (i think that’s right…). She plays Victoria in the Twilight film though.

    Love the dress and necklace. so pretty.

    the book sounds really interesting.

    -lauren



Leave a Reply

