h1

eBooks?

February 13, 2009

I’m back! Sorry for the absence… not only was my internet connection going wacko, but my computer decided to cause me problems as well… so I had very limited access to my Gram’s computer for over 2 days while my mom (the computer fixer) was away… so now my mom is back and I can now get online -though I’m stuck using her laptop for awhile… *sigh* I have the worst luck with computers I swear… 😛

I had some great responses from the book reviews topic I had posted a few days ago and I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who posted their opinion. 🙂 I just love finding out other peoples opinions and what they think about things. Since I got such a great response about the book reviews topic I thought of another topic I’d like to bring up…

eBooks

I’ve been noticing that ebooks are becoming more and more popular everyday. They’re starting to become a thing for the future. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I’m going against them or that I don’t like them, it’s just that I’m not that big of a fan of them, I honestly prefer print books over ebooks, that’s just me. One good reason I’m not a fan of them is because you can’t pass on an ebook to a friend or book swapping site.

Plus, if you are unable to afford an ebook reader *raises hand* like me… it’s a bit of a pain to read a book off a computer and it’s not all that comfortable either. Though, I do plan on saving up for an ebook reader, the only reasons I’m going to get one is because there are authors/publishers out there that only have their books available in ebook format and also because I’ve won ebooks in contests/giveaways.

Now of course there are positive things about ebooks…

like how they help the environment by saving trees and how they’re much cheaper then buying the book in print form.

So, that’s what I think… now what I’d like to know is…

What are your opinions on ebooks? Do you prefer them over print books or are you like me and prefer print books over ebooks?

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

4 comments

  1. I agree with you about ebooks. I like that they’re cheaper and can be downloaded instantly, but it’s a pain to read them off the computer. I prefer to curl up in a recliner to read, but it’s a bit awkward to do so holding a laptop! I also just like the feel and smell of a print book, and turning the pages. I don’t think even an ebook reader could quite match up to that.


  2. I’m really on the fence about ebooks. Things change over time but usually it’s for the better-I grew up watching B&W TV and my parents had one of those ‘furniture style’ stereo cabinets so we could listen to our LP records. So color TV and CD’s were a big improvement, not to mention DVD’s-(thank you techno geeks of the world)!
    But ebooks-I don’t know. You can’t cuddle up with your toddler and get all warm and fuzzy over an ebook.
    And will the President one day be sworn into office by holding his hand over a download of the bible on a Kindle?
    What about inscriptions, signed copies, reading material for the bathroom, a steamy novel for a bubble bath?
    Books just aren’t things, their heirlooms, companions that line the walls of our homes that invite us back time after time. Their works of art,something to adorn our coffee tables – the list goes on and on.
    If we lost physical books I think we would losing part of our culture. But I’m an environmentalist too – so I’m torn. Maybe we could just cut back on newspapers and magazines?


  3. It’s not that I can’t afford an eBook. I think in the long run, it would save money. My problem is there is no universal eBook. I had planned to purchase the Kindle 2.0. I just knew they would fix the PDF. They not only didn’t fix it, but you can’t add the ADOBE Reader software. Sony has it, but you can’t magnify the font. I’m an old bat! I need bigger text. I’m holding out hope for the Plastic Logic on scheduled to be out in 2010. It does support the PDF and the reader software. Here’s the link: http://www.engadget.com/2008/09/08/plastic-logic-finally-ready-to-launch-flexible-e-newspaper-re/

    That’s what I’ll get as soon as it’s available. The Kindle is cool, but I don’t just buy books from Amazon. I buy from other places too.


  4. Just on your comment “you can’t pass on an ebook to a friend or book swapping site.” The are many authors(myself included) who give free eBooks away as promotion for their paper/hardback books. These authors not only allow you to copy their eBooks, but encourage to give copies to your friends if you think they will like the book.



Leave a Reply

