h1

Book Reviews?

February 10, 2009

My internet connection is being really “touchy” and slow so I’m just gonna give a short post today.

Book Reviews… I know I haven’t posted any on my blog yet :S… bad me… I know… but I will soon I promise. 😀

I know authors/publishers use reviews to get the book known and to help spread the word about the book, which I think is great, but I wanna know your opinion on them.

I honestly don’t base the books I buy on book reviews I’ve read. No way, not me. I honestly think that if your gonna read a book, then you read it and the only opinion that matters is yours. I’ve heard a ton of people who don’t like a book that I’ve absolutely loved. I guess it just depends on the person and what your tastes are.

So my question for you is…

Do you base books you buy on the book reviews you read? Or do you feel the same way I feel? Give me your honest opinion… I’m curious. 😀

I shall be back tomorrow… hopefully… if my internet connection isn’t be dumb again :P.

Hugs,

       Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

9 comments

  1. If its a book I know I want then I don’t look at reviews until after I’ve read it if I have the time. If its a book I’m not too sure about then I’ll look at reviews and take it from there. If I still can’t decide then I usually just hold off. If I notice I keep coming back to it then there’s a chance I’ll give it a shot.


  2. I defiantly read reviews! I pick 99% of my books by reading reviews and word of mouth. I am constantly on amazon reading reviews and I also try to write as many as possible. I also look to see how many stars a book has received. Now I am not saying that I will not pick up a book that I like the description or read one that has gotten bad reviews. I do not always agree with the reviews but when a book has 200 5 star votes then I definitely know that the book is worth my time!!!


  3. No, I don’t. Unless it’s a book a was sort of iffy about. If so, the review will either confirm my suspicion or make me rethink my decision. Usually though, I stick with my instinct when reading the book’s description. I totally agree with what you are saying. Just because I loved a book doesn’t mean you will.

    That said, I learn about new books through reviews. If it weren’t for book blog reviews, I’d have never heard about them. Word of blog is how I find my next purchase.


  4. Good Question ! Come to think of it, unless it’s a favorite author that I would buy their book no matter what, I guess I do read book reviews and use them to make a decision whether or not to buy the book. But it may not be from blogs, it could be an interview I heard on TV from the author themselves or a book review in a newspaper or a magazine.
    If I’m browsing the stacks at the library, it’s the ‘book review’ on the cover, that sells me on that particular book.
    I actually never thought it about it that much until you asked the question.


  5. I read reviews but seldom pick books this way. A striking cover and a good blurb are more likely to seduce me than a review. 😉


  6. I do read reviews and some of my favorite books are ones I’ve found that way, but there are also those that just catch my eye.


  7. I so rarely read reviews, and barely do any research on a book before I read it, then I realized I was having very bad reading experiences because of that! So I am trying to find out more about books before I get them now, I’m always on the look out for people with similar reading tastes to mine bc I wouldn’t want a recommendation from someone who likes totally different things than I do.


  8. An interesting topic. I don’t judge my buys on book reviews. I’ve found that I really liked the books that got horrible reviews. And the same goes for movies. I buy books based on the author, the book title, the back blurb. If those interest me, then I find the book in my hands headed for the checkout. I rarely buy books from a new author online and I’m sure I’m missing out on some good reads. But I do usually rely on name recognition and past satisfactory reads.


  9. I used to pick out fiction books by how interesting the storyline blurb was, but the past few years I’ve mostly read books because they’ve become popular. For instance, when “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” came out, I finally succumbed and started reading the series to see what all the hype was about. I will probably do the same for the “Twilight” series, even though I’ve read some hilariously negative reviews about the books. (Sometimes reading reviews is as entertaining as the book itself.) I try not to let reviews influence me too much; I read many negative reviews prior to reading “Brisingr” but I liked it just as well as its predecessors in the series.

    The only reviews I really pay attention to are for internet marketing ebooks and the like–if I can find real reviews and not sales pages masquerading as such!



Leave a Reply

