h1

Guest Author Interview: Keta Diablo!

January 29, 2009

 Keta Diablo currently lives in the Midwest where she writes erotic historical romance and erotic fantasy.

Now please help me give a warm welcome to Siren Publishing/Ravenous Romance/Noble Romance Author, Keta Diablo!

decadentdeceptions

(photo above is of Keta Diablo’s Noble Romance release: Decadent Deceptions)

Dani: Thanks so much for being here, Keta!

 

Keta: Thank you, Dani, for having me. I’ve been looking forward to it.

 

Dani: First, would you please tell us a little about yourself?

 

Keta: Sure. I live in the Midwest, and for those of you who share my locale, I don’t have to tell you it’s been 25 below this past week. Where’s the sun; where’s the spring flowers?

 

I’m partial to my children, of course, animals (think cats and dogs), soy candles, bath salts and books. Did I mention books? I read a wide variety of genres, but mostly historical, paranormal and erotic. I guess that’s why I write in those genres too.

 

Pet peeves: Negativity, and the color white (this would include snow).

 

One of my favorite quotes: “When you stop having dreams and ideals ~ well, you might as well stop altogether.” Marian Anderson

Who I talk to most often: God, because she knows what’s really happening down here.

 

Personal motto: Harm None.

 

Dani: Where did you get the “itch” to write?

 

Keta: I’ve always written in one form or another, mostly family history journals and sketches on early pioneers of America. The stories about their hardships and joys moved me, and soon, complete novels and “what ifs” took flight in my head. What better use of my time than to write them down, name some characters and see where it takes me? My first novel was a historical fiction written under a pen name, and although it entailed some romance, romance wasn’t the main theme.   

 

Dani: How long have you been writing?

 

Keta: Professionally about seven years.

 

Dani: Could you tell us about your current January 2009 release, Land of Falling Stars?

 

Keta: Ah, a book of my heart.  I’m a huge Civil War buff. I came across an article about cousins who lived in Georgia, were best friends, and yet fought against one another in the war. That sent me on a path of thinking…what if two men loved the same woman? What if they were best friends and yet one fought for the North the other for the South? And what if, one killed the other accidentally in battle? These sub-plots conjured a cauldron of conflict and in romance, conflict is a must. The more the better.

Land of Falling Stars required extensive research about the battles in and around Fredricksburg, VA, the locale of there the novel takes place, so that was challenging. There’s a wolfhound in the story. His name is “Ricochet” and he plays an integral part in the scheme of things. On the cover, he’s lying on the ground behind Sophia, so go take a peek if you get the chance.

 

Dani: Any other releases coming up soon? Could you tell us a little about them?

 

Keta: Good Lord, I hope not for a month or two. I’ve had five releases in three months. Whew! I’m exhausted just thinking about it. Dust and Moonlight, my erotic fantasy was just released by Siren Publishing in December and Decadent Deceptions by Noble Romance in November.

Snoop link for Decadent Deceptions: http://tinyurl.com/5et4sd. Warning on Publisher’s web site for this one ladies: Explicit sex and voyeurism.

Snoop link for Dust and Moonlight: http://tinyurl.com/8tfc9v. Erotica fantasy/time travel.

But, alas, I do have several more coming out in March and May. Crossroads released by Phaze Books in March and Crossroads Revisited in May. And another short story through Noble before Valentine’s Day and Wicked Betrayal, a short story by Siren in April.

I’ve given all my secrets away now. You know what I do night and day . . . write!

 

Dani: Out of all the books you’ve written which was the most challenging and why?

 

Keta: For me, Dust and Moonlight. Two author friends asked me to join them in a fantasy anthology. I reminded them I had never written fantasy before, but they convinced me to give it a shot. The pre-reviews for Dust and Moonlight came back very positive, so I begged out of the anthology until they found a replacement and lengthened it to a full novel. It was great fun creating a magical, mystical world about time travel, wild boars, masked assassins, and a decadent-looking Prince who rules a kingdom called Locke Cress. Our heroine, Kira Barton is kind of a klutz, so her survival in this alien land was tenuous at best.

“Can’t” should be removed from the dictionary. Don’t let anyone ever tell you this or that can’t be done. Anything is possible if you try.

 

Dani: Where do you get your ideas for your books?

 

Keta: Mostly from dreams, sometimes from newspaper articles. Our imaginations are very creative while we sleep. I keep a notebook by my bed and if I happen to remember my dreams in the morning or wake up in the middle of the night, I write them down. Vivid, wild, over-the-top creativity comes to us while we sleep and I try to make the most of it.

 

Dani: What are you currently working on?

 

Keta: A full-length story about a woman who buys a prisoner of war (Civil War again) to help her travel North to find her brother. She is from the South, and of course, the prisoner is from the North, and a no-holds-barred, despicable barbarian who plans to leave the lady high and dry at the first opportunity. But like all romances, chemistry interferes and he has second thoughts.  I’d tell you the title, but it’s so cool, I’m afraid someone else will steal it before I finish the book.

 

Dani: What’s been the best experience in your writing career?

 

Keta: When readers e-mail and tell me they loved my book. If I can transport them for a short period to another time and place and they thoroughly enjoyed their visit, then I have done my job. I love to hear from readers, so please contact me through my web site, www.ketadiablo.com or e-mail me, ketadiablo@yahoo.com. Being my own boss ain’t too shabby either.

 

Dani: What’s been the worst experience in your writing career?

 

Keta: After I finaled in the 2008 Molly Contest for Decadent Deceptions, a prestigious contest in the writing community, I contracted the book through a certain publisher (forever to be unnamed). By the time they were done editing – three rigorous edits and three editors later – the book no longer looked like anything I had written. This process took months and then they told me I had to shorten or lengthen my chapters so they were all the same number of pages. I tried to tell them there was no such thing as set chapter lengths, but to no avail. In the end, I opted out of my contract and Noble Romance took the book and totally understood where I was coming. Jill Noble published the book in the original format. Live and learn.  

 

Dani: Since you’re an author, I assume you’re an avid reader as well. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are you favorite authors? What books are on your keeper shelf?

 

Keta: I read Julia Quinn, although I like her earlier books as opposed to the ones she’s putting out now. I read Pam Rosenthal and rely on some good old romance novels from the 80’s that would never be accepted in today’s market – too much purple prose – but I love the descriptive writing. I just finished a book called “Forbidden” by Helen Kirkman that was absolutely captivating. Billed as an erotic, there was no sex until three fourths of the way through the book, but the tension and chemistry between the hero and heroine had me turning the pages quickly. I think she’s a marvelous writer and I plan to e-mail her one day and tell her. For me, it’s rare to find such books, but I am very picky about my reading because I have so little time to read.    

 

Dani: What do you enjoy doing in your spare time (besides writing and reading of course)?

 

Keta: Spare time? Okay, Dani, is this a trick question? I have very little spare time. I never watch television, and once in a while my youngest son convinces me to see a movie. He’s a movie buff and knows my taste. Other than that, play with my furry companions (rescued from the local animal shelter) and sleep.

 
Dani: What advice would you give to aspiring writers today?

 

Keta: If you want to be a writer, know that it’s a tough market; competition is very stiff. There are thousands of books available to readers every day. Why should they buy yours? It’s up to you to know your market, write the best book you possibly can, and convince them they’ll love your book. Then pray they do.

 

Be patient, persistent and don’t let anyone tell you will never be a writer. If they tell you this, ditch them, and this includes your family. It’s imperative you have supportive people around you because it’s a lonely, grueling life that not many understand until they get into it. Would I change my career for any other?  Never.
 
Dani: Anything else you’d like to tell us?

 

Keta: Yes, thank you, Dani, for having me. Your kindness is appreciated. Don’t forget while you’re at my web site to enter my book give-away contests and sign my guestbook. My author web site is listed below again along with my author blog.

 

Drop in any old time; I love visitors.

 

Happy reading and stay safe.

 

Namaste, Keta Diablo

Author web site: http://www.ketadiablo.com

Keta’s Keep Blog: http://ketaskeep.blogspot.com/

 Okay Everyone! Keta has agreed to stop in today to answer questions and comments so ask away or just give a little wave and say Hi! 

If you’d like to PURCHASE any of her books just click on one of the titles below.

Land of Falling Stars

Dust and Moonlight

Decadent Deceptions

I’m definately going to be picking up all of Keta’s books especially Land of Falling Stars… I LOVE the cover of that one! 😀

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

4 comments

  1. I just wanted to say hi and that I am looking forward to reading your books. I am a big fan of Julia Quinn’s older books also! I was just reading the descriptions of your books and I have to say I am very excited to read them all!!! Have a great weekend…Nicole


  2. Hi Nicole,

    Thanks for dropping in. I’ve read many of Julia Quinn’s books and really used to love them. I haven’t been as fond of her most recent releases. Maybe my taste has changed, but I think she’s a good writer.

    Thanks for checking out my books. They are pretty racy! Let me know what you think if you read them. I always love to hear from readers.

    And stop by my web site to enter my contest to win free books. I give them away every month.

    Best, Keta


  3. Hi Keta and Dani,
    Great interview. Congratulations on all the releases, Keta. I can totally sympathize with the publisher horror story. Went through something similar recently. Hope you see the crocuses and daffodils break through the snow soon. Stay warm,
    Rebecca


  4. Hi Rebecca,

    We must e-mail some day. I keep running into you everywhere. Who do you write for?

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a coment.



Leave a Reply

