h1

Oh, Lucky Me :P

January 6, 2009

Okay, so I’m a little behind on my post… go figure. This stupid cold has been kicking my butt for the past few days and it’s driving me nuts! 😛 I managed to “by pass” this cold all through pre-Christmas  and Christmas (my mom and her boyfriend both had it) and I thought I was home free by the time New Year’s Eve rolled around… boy was I wrong. I swear it hit me like a boulder the next day. Oh, lucky me.

So, today was supposed to be a post about PaperBackSwap and BookMooch obviously that’s not happening… so I’m gonna push that to tomorrow along with pushing the other days I had planned a day later as well. So I”ll announce the days at the end of this post.

So my post today is gonna be about doctors. Oh, how I hate doctors with a passion. I know hate is such a strong word, but I really feel like using that word right now because I feel I have a right to. You wanna know why… okay sure I’ll tell you why.

Every time I go to the doctors (which I rarely do-and only do when I’m REALLY sick) we go through the regular “check-up” stuff, like the ear, throat, chest check, etc. and then the doctor asks me, “So, how long have you been sick?” and I answer, “Well, about (always a few days never more then a week).” Then the doctor decides to tell me, “You, haven’t been sick long enough for me to give you a prescription.” or “You’re cold/flu hasn’t developed enough for you to get a prescription.”

Now after the doctor says either of those statements to me I have to most confused look on my face. I honestly wanna ask the doctor (but I don’t) “Why on earth would I want my cold/flu to “DEVELOP” more if I came here to get better in the first place?!”

So instead I ask, “Well, how long do I have to be sick for?” The doctors answer, “At least a week if not more.” So, I leave the doctors office still sick and without a prescription to get any medicine to feel better. Plus, the waist of gas doesn’t make me happy either. What have I learned from my past visits…

HELLO over-the-counter medicine. Now I’m so immuned to most of this stuff that it hardly works half the time so I either A) Wait and suffer with my cold/flu for over a  week OR lie about how long I’ve been sick to the doctor…

My question of the day…

Has this ever happened to you? I honestly gotta know if my doctor’s office is the only one with wierdo doctors in it.

What to expect the next few days…

  • Tomorrow (7th)- PaperBackSwap and BookMooch
  • 8th- Pet Story (Bear aka Bubba Dog)
  • 9th- Book Lovin’ Penpals Group

Thanks for stopping by!

Hugs,

     Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

5 comments

  1. Sorry to hear that you have been struck by the cold bug : ( I truly think that the drug companies that make all the cold and flu medicines are laughing all the way to the bank. None of that stuff works for me either except Vicks Vapor Rub and Nyquil Nighttime (cause it knocks me out cold).

    You’d think by now someone would have discovered a cure for the common cold ! Who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor? We can transplant organs and so much more but one little cold bug can knock us out for days or weeks, that’ll keep us humans humble.

    Rest, rest and more rest. Fluids and all the creature comforts you can tolerate.
    When I get a cold the living couch becomes my oasis and I claim the TV as mine. Homemade chicken soup if I can drag myself off the couch long enough to make it or Boston Market mashed potates with gravy if I can’t. Along with a stack of DVD’s, I’m good till bedtime.

    Sending you hugs and prayers Dani ~ feel better soon OK?


  2. Aw, feel better! I hate being sick. And that’s so odd about the doctor. I’ve never heard of that before and it’s never happened to me…and I’m prettyyy sure I’ve been to the doctor being sick for less than a week. I think MOST people do that. Crazy!

    -Lauren


  3. Hey Dani! It was nice chatting with you today. I missed your last few comments because I’d wandered off in search of the DayQuil… and I ran out! LOL Time to get a bunch more, I guess. 😀

    Hope you feel better soon. Heck, hope we BOTH feel better!


  4. Hey thanks for the linkage! And I hope you feel better soon. 🙂


  5. Hope you feel better soon, Dani!

    The pups hijacked the computer earlier and left a message on Bear’s blog from Sunday. They gave his rating system 4 Paws Up! 🙂



Leave a comment