h1

Happy 2009 and Welcome To My Blog!

January 1, 2009

happy_new_year

HAPPY 2009 EVERYONE and WELCOME TO MY BLOG!!! My name is Dani and I have a confession to make… I’m addicted to romance books! That’s why my nickname is The Romance Book Addict… bet you didn’t know that did you? 🙂 I read all sub-genres (of romance and YA) but my favorite is paranormal. I have been an avid romance reader since January 2007 (I read YA and pet stories too) and love meeting and talking to others who enjoy books as much as I do.

I live in a small “gossip” town in northern Minnesota in a house full of chaos with my mom, her boyfriend, Gram, my younger sister Demi, and my herd of pets (5 cats and 3 dogs- you’ll find out more about each of my pets in future posts) including my partner-in-crime, Bear aka Bubba Dog. Not including all the teenagers (Demi’s friends’) we have coming and going constantly… as you can already tell that’s why I call it a house full of chaos. Though I do manage to escape away from the chaos once in awhile and when I do I head over to my dad’s house (which is a short drive away) and hang out with him and his dog, Doobie.

My hobbies/interests include reading (obviously… hehe), music, movies, photography, my pets, cooking/baking, and now… blogging. Here are some random facts about me and things that I believe: Music is my life and I love to blast my music and sing along to it. I love the rain. I believe that I’ll be a kid at heart all my life which doesn’t bother me a bit. I’m a daydreamer. Sometimes I believe I’m too nice… if there is such a thing. Anyone who can make me laugh is the greatest person in the world. I believe that everything happens for a reason. I tend to say the word “amazing” quite often. I make lists for just about everything. There’s nothing like seeing the world through the “eyes” of a camera. I’m an animal lover. I’ve been told I’m very sweet yet very stubborn. I prefer texting over calling because it’s just more fun that way. I play guitar hero and it says I ROCK! I believe that there’s no such thing as too many books. I’m random. I’m a better listener then I am a talker. I believe that there’s no such thing as normal and that we are all weird in our own special way.

 I decided to start this blog to share with others about how much I love to read and to spread the word about authors and their books that are out there. I look forward to making new friends and probably even discovering new to me authors as well. While romance books will be the main focus of my blog other topics will be discussed as well including YA authors/books and pet books (ex. Marley & Me).

 

Here are some examples of what kinds of things to expect on my blog:

  • Book Contests -with extra goodies thrown in )
  • Guest Author Interviews/Posts
  • mentions of Author’s Contests
  • mentions of other Book Blog Contests
  • Book Reviews
  • Book Recommendations
  • Featured Authors/Books
  • Current Book Releases
  • Books Into Movies
  • any other romance/YA/pet book related topics
  • and even random ramblings from me )

I’ve got a few surprises coming up soon… okay I give up I’ll tell you one of the surprises and it’s a BOOK CONTEST! Woohoo! I’m sure you’re just as excited as I am aren’t you? 🙂 I’ll announce the contest in a couple days… so I guess it still is somewhat of a surprise since you don’t know exactly what book your winning. So keep an eye out! 🙂

If you’ve checked out my sidebar (and if you haven’t you should) you’ll see that there are 2 polls I currently have going. The polls won’t show results because I’ll be announcing the results at the end of the month. So every month on the 1st I’ll announce a new poll(s) and every last day of the month I’ll announce the results. Some of these polls that we have I’ll be sending the results to authors… so go on and VOTE people! You know you want to. 🙂

You’ll also see that there are The Animal Rescue Site and The Literacy Site buttons… I’ll be talking about those sites within the next week.

Also there is my BLOGROLL and in it you’ll find the section called “Sites I’m On…” those are all the sites to MY SPECIFIC PAGES so add me/friend me if you want to!

Also you should definately “explore” around a bit (my other pages and such)… one of my pages I have is currently called Jan/Feb Releases. The page has a cool slideshow of books that I’m REALLY looking forward to. The page (including the title- the months only) will change every 2 months with a new slideshow of books. Another one of my pages “I Heart Banners” is a page full of banners of sites I support, promote, and love. You’ll see that its a little empty, but I’ll be adding more banners within the next few weeks and quite often. You’ll also see a few other pages popping up within the next couple days… I’ll be posting them when I talk about the topics that are involved with them.

If you frequent a lot of book blogs (like me) you’ve probably seen me around… my username on the BLOGGER blog’s is danie88 and on the WORDPRESS and OTHER blog’s my username is Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict.

Also a special note for any ROMANCE and YA Authors that stop by… If you would like to…

  • donate promo items/books for my contest winners
  • be a guest author on my blog
  • have your book reviewed (I accept all sub-genres)

Just contact me at romancebookaddict @ hotmail.com (without the spaces) for details. 

Also a note for EVERYONE… I really hate to say this but I’m saying this just in case…

This blog is NOT for the purpose of bashing authors and their books! Please keep that in mind if you decide to comment! Also keep in mind that I will be posting EROTIC/EROTICA books on this site as well. Everyone has a right to there own opinion but there is no need to be rude. If you don’t like a certain genre/book/author then don’t comment. No ones forcing you to.

The next few days are gonna be busy… I’m gonna be posting a few other pages and important things so keep a look out!

What to expect…

  • Tomorrow (2nd)- Cover Of The Month
  • 3rd- What’s On Your Playlist?
  • 4th- Bubba Dog’s Book Reviews
  • 5th- The Animal Rescue Site and The Literacy Site
  • 6th- PaperBackSwap and BookMooch

So that’s what I have planned out so far… (somewhere within those days I’ll announce a contest too).

***NOTE: I’ve been getting quite a few questions about who made my logo/banner and who is in it… and no it’s not me lol. It’s my younger sister, Demi with several of my books that I’ve either already read or that are in my TBR pile. I did take the picture and make the logo/banner though so I’m quite happy with it. 🙂 BUT PLEASE DO NOT STEAL/COPY MY LOGO (NOR ANY OF MY PHOTOGRAPHY OFF OF MY PHOTOSHOP WEBSITE)***

So now that you know somewhat about the blog and myself I wanna know a little about you. Every time I post I’m gonna ask you a question or some questions. You can answer them if you want it’s up to you. Now honestly I’m not gonna ask you questions without answering those questions too because I want you to get to know me just like I want to get to know all of you.

Instead of asking everyone the usual “What is your New Year’s Resolution?” question because I know some people don’t stick with them *raises hand* including myself… I thought I would ask a more fun and meaningful question…

and the question is…

What are you looking forward to this year?

I’m looking forward to getting to know all of you and making new friends and having fun on this blog… I’m hoping it’s gonna be fun for everyone and we are gonna have a great time!

Okay so I think I’m about done… If you have any comments, questions, suggestions, or just feel like talking DON’T HESITATE to e-mail me at romancebookaddict @ hotmail.com (without the spaces) or leave a comment. Don’t be shy people! I love hearing from my fellow bloggers/readers and authors and making new friends! 🙂 Also if you have any book recommendations or would like to see a certain book featured on here send me a list!

THANKS FOR VISITING EVERYONE AND I HOPE YOU COME BACK SOON!

Hugs,

      Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

26 comments

  1. Happy New Year Dani! I’m proud of you and all the work you have done to launch your blog! It looks great and sounds like fun! Always follow your dreams…LuvU, Mom


  2. Hey Dani. Great looking site. Going to look around now but so far, very impressed.


  3. Hi Danni

    This blog sounds really good I too am addicted to reading romance mainly historical but I have ventured into different genres last year and am really enjoying them
    I live in Australia and have been reading romance for well over 30 years and I would never stop.

    Have Fun
    Helen


  4. Happy New Year Dani
    The site looks great!!!


  5. Congrats on your blog launch, Dani! It looks terrific! I see we share three loves – dogs, books and photography – so I’ll be checking in often to see what you’re up to and dish about my favorite subjects. Best of luck!

    ~PJ


  6. Woohoo, Danie and welcome to the blogsphere! Your sight looks fab and fun!

    In 2009 I am looking forward to finding a publishing home for my historical romance Patrician series and another fun filled year with my fellow Romance Bandits!

    We Banditas always look forward to your visits and hmmmm..you’re into photograpy? Perhaps you could take the Golden Rooster’s official portrait….

    Um…if you can CATCH the wily bird!

    Good luck and I look forward to visiting frequently.

    http://www.romancebandits.blogspot.com


  7. This looks awesome. Oh cool yo’ve linked to my blog. I’ll link back to – hopefully sometime today or tomorrow.

    Good Luck & Happy New Year.


  8. Very nice work on your 1st blog!!!!

    i am looking Forward to a lot of things in 2009:
    traveling ( Going back to Forks Washington with friends)
    Spending time with family and friends
    Starting that diet ( which never seems to happen)
    and of course Reading Reading Reading!!

    Hope you had a Great New Years!!!


  9. Hi Dani! Welcome to BloggingMania. Grins. Hopping over from the Romance Bandits site to say hi. *waving* and congrats *throws confetti* and HAPPY NEW YEAR! Your site looks totally cool and fun and I’ll be popping in to check on all the fun.

    Grins,
    Jeanne


  10. Ooops, forgot to answer the question…I’m looking forward to rearranging my office (short term), writing two more books for Kensington this year, the release of my second book in June, our family beach trip in June, and a whole pile of other writing stuff like RWA National in my backyard – Washington DC!


  11. Hi Dani, Happy New Year, and many congratulations on your blog! It looks great and I’m looking forward to visiting often!

    ~ Nicola


  12. Hey, Dani, congratulations on the launch of your blog! I’m sure I’ll be a regular visitor. Love all the extras and love that banner – your TBR pile looks a bit like mine! I’ve got a lot to look forward to in 2009. I didn’t have a book out in 2008 and in 2009, I’ve got two! The first Tempt the Devil is officially a January release and then another as yet without an official title is out next November. Whoo-hooo! What else? I’m looking forward to visiting Washington in July for the RWA conference. I get to see all my Bandita sisters and lots of writing buddies. Not only that, I’ll get to sightsee in Washington. I’ve never been there before so I’m going to be running around like a Golden Rooster on too much caffeine. I hope that picture is scary! 😉

    Good luck with the blog! I’m sure it’s going to be a hit!


  13. Danie, this looks like it’s going to be a totally fun blog! I’m bookmarking it. I thought it sounded fun when you posted about it on our Romance Bandits blog.

    I too love paranormal and YA, and a mixture of the two. In fact, I have a paranormal YA that I really hope my publisher will pick up.

    Okay, looking forward to this year — the release of my first YA in April and my second Harlequin American in May, releases of several books too numerous to name, and (because I’m a huge movie fan) lots of movies. Among them are Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Star Trek, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, etc.

    I’m looking forward to your future posts too! 🙂


  14. Hi, Danie–Congratulations on launching your blog! It looks great. I’m also an eclectic reader, so I like findingi a place that caters to a wide range of interests.

    In 2009, I look forward to writing a new book, discovering a new author (either just published or new to me) whose work I can love–’cause we just NEED more book sin our house! *g*–and taking a trip with my family.

    Happy New Year!


  15. Dani, what a great start! I love the polls and am a complete survey-taking sucker. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to your first year in the blogosphere. It sounds like you’ve put a lot of planning into your blog and spent lots of time studying what makes romance readers tick. It should be loads of fun. Remember to let us know at Romance Bandits when you’re having special events so we can swing by!


  16. Hey Dani,

    Congrats on the launch of your blog! I’m excited for all the awesome looking movies and books coming out this year. I hope school continues to go well and that I’ll be able to further persue a career in writing of some sort.

    I’m also hoping that my zine continues to do, as well as the “sister site” I just launched for foreign entertainment, called Bridge the Gap.

    🙂
    Lauren


  17. WTG Dani, your site is rocking. Happy New Year


  18. Congratulations on the grand opening of your blog Danie! I added you and will be a frequent visitor here.
    What I’m looking forward to this new year is a new start basically. 2008 was a good year but threw a bunch of harsh realities on me that I would rather put behind me. 2009 gives me the chance to do that with a whole brand spanking new year before me that I’m hoping are full of smiles, laughter, wonderful surprises and great memories. I hope everyone else has the same kind of awesome new year I’m expecting in 2009. Happy New Year!


  19. This looks great! Best of luck to you, but you’re definitely off to a fabulous start. Happy 2009! Bookmarks in the mail to you tomorrow!


  20. HAPPY 2009, Dani!
    Another Bandita swinging by to say hi! Your new blog looks great and you will definitely be hearing from me (and other Banditas, I’m sure) about reviews, promo and contest items.

    What I’m looking forward to in 2009: my second release, but that’s not until next Fall. Til then, I’m looking forward to lots of cyberfun with all my Banditas and friends and reading lots of great new books!

    AC


  21. Dani, welcome to the blog world. You have a wonderful, natural conversation style and format that I suspect will be very popular – your enthusiasm is infectious! I was smiling most of the time I was reading it.

    For 2009, what I’m looking forward to (or rather, hoping to do well) is the four books I’m scheduled to write (two vampires and one mermaid/angel book, so I’ll help feed your paranormal needs!). I’m looking forward to (or again, hoping to achieve) a good balance between enjoying life and work, and learning to breathe and relax a little better, so I don’t get overrun by the momentum of daily life (smile).

    On the lighter side, I’m in Trish’s camp because I’m a movie buff. What’s scary is our movie list is exactly the same. I’m looking forward to all of the ones she listed, and I hope they live up to expectations – I’m starving for good movies! In lieu of good movies, though, I’ll settle for just two hours of staring at Hugh Jackman as Wolverine (lol).

    Congratulations again, and good luck!


  22. Dani hi! We are 2 Maltese dogs and what a treat to stumble across your awesome blog on this New Year’s Day! We are looking forward to hearing more about your pack — including Bear the Bubba Dog!

    Also, LoLLy is a rescue and we spend our spare time doing happy stuff to raise all sorts of good vibes (and cash!) for rescue dogs, so thanks for posting that animal awareness link.

    LoLLy’s dream is to be a world famous writer so she will be following your blog carefully for tips. LuLu wants to be a pro-wrestler but that’s a different story.

    Please tell your pack to come visit us! Maybe we could dlog about Bear the Partner in Crime on our Dog Blog (animals only, no humans allowed!)

    Congratulations on your awesome site! Love, Your PaLs,LuLu and LoLLy!
    http://www.luluandlolly.com


  23. Happy New Year Dani! The blog looks great!


  24. Hey Dani,
    Long time no see! Happy new year and congratz on ur blog! 😀
    In case u forgot who am I, I am Jenny the exchange student from Indonesia.
    Take a moment to remember…
    Yeah, u got it right, I was the one who randomly screaming and running on the school coridor. LoL!
    Anyway, I miss you! And Glad to see u r doing fine! 😀
    Keep on rocking!!!

    Jenny


  25. Hi Dani! I just wanted to stop by and wish you well for 2009. I love the layout of the site and can’t wait to see what you have in store.

    Best Wishes!

    Holly


  26. With the book challenges beginning, I am late getting over here. Sorry about that!

    Happy New Year! It’s going to be a great year!!



Leave a Reply

