h1

BDBR: Rogue by Cheryl Brooks

April 9, 2009

The first of my book reviews! I know, finally! Just on a side note all of my book reviews will have BDBR (stands for Bubba Dog’s Book Reviews) at the beginning of the post title followed by the book title and author. Plus, each of my book review posts will be under the catergory of “Bubba Dog’s Book Reviews” as well as be listed on the Bubba Dog’s Book Reviews Page.

I’ll have several more book reviews coming up for the next few days along with a few more guest authors so be sure to check them out! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

rog

 Title: Rogue

Author: Cheryl Brooks

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance

Book In Series: #3 of The Cat Star Chronicles

Publication Date: March 1, 2009

Rating:

 

BLURB:

“No woman has ever tamed him before…
Enslaved for years, Tychar belongs to the Queen of Darconia. His feline gene gives him remarkable sexual powers and every female on the planet is in love with him. Then, the Queen gives him to Kyra…

Does she even stand a chance?
Or will she be just another one of his conquests? Why would he choose the modest piano teacher? Yet the two are drawn to each other with a powerful, magnetic attraction unlike any he’s felt before… Then the palace is attacked in a coup, and Tychar has to choose between freedom and love…”

REVIEW:

When books are written in a series I tend to like to read them in order so I don’t feel that I’m missing something. I honestly didn’t have that problem when reading Rogue. Everything was explained in great detail so I didn’t feel “lost” in the story and feel like I have to read the first two books – though I definately plan to anyway. I found out why brothers, Tychar and Trag were enslaved so long ago along with others from their destroyed planet Zetith and why it was destroyed. The descriptions of the palace, the planet, its people, everything were in great detail. I felt that I was right there in their world, seeing and experiencing it all through the characters/authors eyes.

I really enjoyed discovering the world of Darconia – where Tychar and Trag are enslaved. I love being introduced to new unknown worlds. Now when you think of the word “enslaved” you most likely think of it in a bad way which is what I assumed as well but, for being slaves they were actually treated very, very well. I’m honestly glad the author didn’t make them being slaves into a horribly, bad, and depressing part of the story, that would have ruined the story.

The world of Darconia I found facinating from their dry, rock infested desert land to their many resourceful products/resources like the glowstones and cleaning cloths – I would explain in more detail why I found these things so facinating but, I don’t want to give too much away. Also that their planet was pretty much inhabited by talking lizard people was pretty interesting as well. I’m not a big fan of reptiles they kind of creep me out so if I would have ever seen them talk it would have taken some getting used to.

Now onto the good part, Tychar and Kyra’s romantic chemistry was beyond amazing. You could just feel it crackling and sizzling in the air. It was really funny seeing Kyra struggle with trying not to (pardon my french) jump his bones even though she really wanted to and I found Tychar absolutely charming. I did find it kind of weird to hear Tychar talking about love so soon in the beginning of the book. Usually if a woman even mentions the word love to a man they go running. Well, I guess Tychar isn’t exactly human so it doesn’t count but, still it was really weird.

On the other hand Tychar’s brother, Trag he seemed to catch my eye more. I think it was the fact that he was so cocky and had a sense of humor with a temper to match. I tend to be drawn more to male characters with those characteristics for some odd reason.

In all, this book was a great read and I definately recommend it. Even try picking out one of the other books in The Cat Star Chronicles series, I’m sure they’re as good as this one. I’m hoping to get my hands on the first two books in the series so I’ll for sure do a review on them when I manage to get my hands on them. You will be expecting a review from the 4th book in the series called, Outcast by the end of the month. It releases from Sourcebooks, Inc. on June 1, 2009!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’d like to PURCHASE Rogue just click on one of the links below:

Sourcebooks, Inc.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Borders

And be sure to check out Cheryl Brooks website for more info on the other books in The Cat Star Chronicles series along with future releases as well!

Hugs,

       Dani ~ aka The Romance Book Addict

5 comments

  1. CORRECTION: The review for Outcast by Cheryl Brooks will be up by the end of May not this month. I swear I’m loosing track of what day/month it is. I need a perminent calender stamped in my brain. 😛


  2. So another new series to check out. Thanks Dani.


  3. I don’t normally read this genre but I have a friend that loves them. I’ll be sure to let her know about this one…sounds pretty sizzling!! 🙂


  4. I’m glad to see that reading this out of order didn’t bother you. I have one on my shelf but I’ve been putting it off since it wasn’t the first in the series.


  5. […] check out my book review of Rogue, book #3 in The Cat Star Chronicles series CLICK HERE. I’ll have my book review of Outcast up soon! So keep your eyes […]



Leave a comment